They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

Reality tried to dose me with a bucket of ice cold water

Leave a comment

…but it was so cold the water froze, so reality decided to hit me on the head with the frozen bucket instead (haha).

Seriously though, all the preparation in the world could not have prepared me for this shit:

Image

Image

It especially could not have prepared me for this:

Image

 

The cold was no joke. I would walk out and my eyes would start streaming. One time, I didn’t realize I had snot in my nose until it froze as I walked outside.

Image

Coming from southern California, I never would’ve thought that I would be able to distinguish the difference in weather once it got below 60 degrees F. I thought that anything below 60 degrees would all feel like freezing to me. As it turns out though, why yes, yes there is a huge difference between single digit weather and double digit weather, and let me tell you, I definitely learned to appreciate it.

Image

Image

 

And what is snow day? I have never heard of that! Well apparently, sometimes it snows so much that schools close for the day and even offices would recommend people stay at home. And no wonder, I mean, take a look at what happened to my car just in the one day I stayed home:

Image

Despite all that though, I find snow beautiful, especially when it’s falling. Every time I see snow fall, I want to go out there (while bundled up, of course!), throw my arms up in the air, jump around in circles, and go, “snoooooooow!!!” People have told me that I’ll get over that as soon as I need to do something with said snow, like shovel it out of my driveway or walk through it, but I don’t think so. Yes, I will hate doing all of that snow chore crap, but I’m pretty sure the sight of falling snow (at least the initial sight) will always awaken my inner child and just make me look at it with wonder.

Image

I mean, just look at that. Snow is beautiful.

Image

Image

Image

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

