They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

Spring is in the air!

Leave a comment

Now that it’s getting warmer and school is done for summer break* I’m super excited about exploring New York and the other surrounding states. At the same time, I heard spring/summer is when the fun activities happen around here. One such event that I heard about was the Chocolate and Wine Festival in Montrose, Pennsylvania. I looked up how far it was from me and it was only a 35 minute drive! How crazy that I can be in another state in just 35 minutes! Ok, so that’s not really crazy, it’s more that being from southern California it’s a little strange to me that I can be in different states in a relatively short amount of time. In any case, I was excited to do my first event around here and just generally excited because..well…it’s wine and chocolate (lol).

The festival started off with a complimentary wine glass and some chocolate.

Image

Aside from the many wineries offering wine tasting, there was food, dessert, and various other vendors selling some pretty cool stuff.

Image

Image

(This one makes me sad because I am unfortunately horribly lactose-intolerant and gluten-sensitive)

Image

Image

 

They also had a live band performing, which was pretty cool.

Image

The best part for me though was the drive to and from the event. I was just absolutely astounded with how beautiful it was.

Why, hello there, open space!

Image

I couldn’t get over how green everything was!

Image

Image

I took so many more photos than this because it was just so absolutely beautiful to me. It’s funny because when I looked back at my photos, (1) they did not do what I saw justice, and (2) they all looked the same. I just wanted to capture it, I was so surprised at the beauty all around me. Most people think of New York City when they hear “New York,” which naturally brings to mind tall buildings, busy streets, and loud noises, and I’m not going to lie, I was one of those people. What I’m starting to realize though with spring finally coming is that the other part of New York that is not the city is beautiful. Like, nature beautiful, not just concrete jungle where dreams are made of beautiful.

I’ve only seen winter and the beginning of spring so far but I can already begin to understand why people like living in a place that has seasons. Yeah, winter and summer can be brutal but wow how the land changes! Winter was beautiful too but spring…wow. I hope my work assignment keeps me here until fall because I heard that’s the most beautiful season of all. Truthfully, I don’t want to leave at all but…I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.

Just need to remember:

godknows

And also:

eq-best-quote-by-joyce-meyer-patience-is-not-the-ability-to-wait-but-13890739148ng4k

 

*Yup, I work full-time and am a part-time student trying to get my master’s. At the same time, I am drinking the crossfit kool aid heavily (although I’ve gotten over talking about it excessively) and I’m determined to visit my friends and family on the east coast while also doing my own exploration. I iz crazy, I know. Wouldn’t have it any other way. 🙂

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

