They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

Why I chose to drink the Crossfit kool-aid

Leave a comment

My visit home this time around was specifically to support my crossfit box back home as they competed in the CrossFit Southern California Regionals.

Image

Image

Image

I’m not going to go into the details of how they did and what went down or what not and instead focus on why I love this so much. See the girl in that last photo performing what looks like a 125 lb snatch with an intense expression on her face? That’s Coach Laura and she has been nothing but encouraging whether it comes to the workouts or answering my food-related questions. That intensity shown in the photo captures her passion for the crossfit lifestyle accurately and I absolutely love it!

Now here is Coach Noe, also doing a snatch (can’t tell the weight) and look at just how happy she looks making that weight.

Image

Not only does Noe embrace the crossfit lifestyle, but she is also a surgeon and a masters competitor* at that!

Now here is Tonia, my absolute hero and role model. She is a masters competitor also, a mother to two adorable little girls, a senior project manager, and from the get has been very encouraging towards me and continues to be even though I’ve moved away.

Image

Not only do they inspire me as individuals, but even seeing them work as a team continues to inspire me.

Image

The camaraderie is so obvious and I know it’s real because that’s how I felt every time I’ve stepped in that gym, and how I’ve felt prior to that gym, and how I currently feel at my gym out here. No matter what your goals are, whether you want to be competitive, you’re just there to get in shape, or you don’t know yet what your goals are, crossfitters, in general, are supportive and will help you achieve your goals. Of course not all boxes** are created equal and all that but from my experience (and I started in 2010 – yikes!) I have always felt the same.

You know what else is pretty cool? How small and tight-knit the crossfit community is. Crossfit isn’t that big around Binghamton (yet) so there aren’t that many local events and such, and that being the case I had totally forgotten about how small the crossfit world is. So when I went to the SoCal regionals I was pleasantly surprised to bump into so many people that I knew, including 2 of my old co-workers! Keep in mind that I do not work in Reebok, who is the crossfit sponsor, or anything crossfit related so that was quite a surprise! I came specifically to see my crossfit box back home compete and hang out with that crew but it ended up being more like a reunion. I loved it!

Crossfit is a huge part of my life and likely will continue to be. I just love how it makes me feel and how it has helped tremendously with my life/work balance (I was a bit of a workaholic). I’ve also noticed that with the confidence I’ve gained in the gym also came confidence in other facets in my life and many people have told me they’ve experienced the same as well. Now don’t worry, I’m not trying to convince anyone to do it because it’s the best thing since sliced bread. All I’m saying is that for me, it kinda is. 🙂

On a serious note though, I think it’s really about finding something that speaks to you in that way and making it into a lifestyle rather than a hobby you do on the side. That something, for me, is crossfit.

Image

*Masters competitors are those over 40. Seeing masters compete is pretty unbelievable. Crossfit has definitely changed the way I viewed getting old. I no longer fear getting older because now I know I don’t have to be weak and unable to do things for myself. I’m not talking about the ones who are around 40, by the way. There are some pretty bad-ass 60-year olds out there that I’ve personally met.

**Crossfit tends to call their gyms “boxes” because back in the day, crossfit started in a garage with just the basic gym equipment. So the idea is all you need is some basic gym equipment and a box and you’re good to go. You’ll notice that I tend to call them gyms and that is because…I still see them as gyms. Oh calm down, crossfit nazis! Whatevs!

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

