They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

Daddy’s Little Girl

Leave a comment

Image

There is one memory in particular that stands out to me with regards to my father and it wasn’t because of a grand gesture or big event either. I was probably around 11 or 12 years old hanging out in his room as he got ready to go somewhere. He was explaining to me how the Philippine National Police worked and how it was similar to the American military in terms of ranking. Unlike the American military, however, you had to retire at the age of 55. My dad at the time was a colonel and was around 47 or 48 years old. With the total candidness of a young girl, I straight up asked him if he thought he was going to make it to General given that he only had a few years left before retirement and it’s extremely difficult to get promoted.

His response?

“Of course.”

No hesitation, no further thought given. He didn’t even stop brushing his hair.

That was a very mundane moment, but an extraordinary memory for me. It’s been over 15 years and the memory of that mundane moment has stuck with me. When you want something, not only do you go for it, you have to believe it as the truth – there is no other option. It’s like, instead of thinking of all the things that are going against you, think about all the things you’re capable of and make it happen. It’s that simple.

My dad retired at the age of 55 years old as a General. 🙂

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

