They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

Do you like your surprises as an appetizer or as a dessert?

Leave a comment

“I guess I should start out by saying that I will no longer be your manager.”

My reaction:

Image

Followed shortly by:

Image

That’s how my current manager started the conversation and throughout the rest of the conversation the shock was still with me so I wasn’t fully there. I’m not sure if it would’ve been better if he saved that for the end of the conversation though because I’m pretty sure I would’ve sensed something was coming and I would’ve been distracted throughout the conversation trying to figure it out. I guess there isn’t a delicate or easy way to deliver shocking news like that. Personally, I like doing the sandwich method, where you start the conversation on something mundane like the weather, deliver the shocking news, then carry on as if you didn’t just say something shocking. It reminds me of the following conversation I had with a friend of mine when I was trying to tell her I made the excellent decision to go back to my ex:

FRIEND: So how’s everything going?

ME: Oh everything’s pretty good! I’m getting ready for summer so I decided to buy a patio set for my balcony. I’ve decided to go back to my ex. Yeah, the patio set was pretty cheap at Big Lots, you should totally go there if you’re looking to buy some reasonably priced furniture.

FRIEND: …wait, what?

ME: I said that Big Lots is a surprisingly great place to buy reasonably priced furniture.

I really like my current manager, although we aren’t close like my manager and I were at my previous job. Plus, I’m unsure whether or not I like my soon-to-be new manager. Putting the emotional aspect aside though and trying to look at the big picture, when he was describing to me the reorganization that is going on with our company, I wasn’t sure (still not) if this will be for the better or for the worse. I’ve known that change was coming but I naively thought I wouldn’t be affected. Now don’t get me wrong, I typically embrace change and welcome it. It’s just that I’m not really sure about this one. I haven’t quite put my finger on it but something feels off. I think once my shock wears off I’ll do what I do best and write things out – pros and cons, what my misgivings are, observations since being put in my current job position, etc. I will also take advantage of my new closeness with one of the newly appointed chief engineers and get his take on it. Now that I’ve had this talk with my soon-to-be former boss, I recall that the chief engineer had mentioned something to me about a change coming and this could be it.

The chief engineer is currently on a flight somewhere, there’s supposed to be a team-wide meeting later on this week, so really there’s not much for me to do as far as information gathering other than waiting, which I am oh-so-good at (NOT!). Since I’m not good at simply waiting, I’ll probably organize my thoughts on paper when I get home to try and figure out what’s off about this whole thing and what it is I’m looking for as far as my career goes. Damn type A personality, why can’t I simply relax??

Image

I wonder if this is part of the thing I feel like I’m missing that’s going to help me figure out what’s going to happen in the future, and by future I mean the end of this year (I can’t even go beyond that at this point). If so, I’m excited! I think I’m going to think of it that way instead of worrying about the unknown, which I tend to do. Breathe, girl, just breathe. Think happy thoughts.

Image

 

 

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

