They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

Two Steps Forward, One Step Back

Leave a comment

Sometimes, I amaze myself with how stubborn I can be. Just the other day, I gave myself a lecture on needing to rest and listening to my body. I told myself that it is not worth the momentary feeling of awesomeness and badassness of being able to push through when my body is exhausted in the grand scheme of things. But, you know, it seemed like a really great idea at the time. And now I feel like this:

Zombie Jointed Cut Out Decoration

WHY? Why do I do this to myself?? Oh wait, this is why:

I-NEVER-MAKE-THE-SAME-MISTAKE-TWICE-480x318

Damn straight! Haha!

So what did this genius decide to do that left me feeling all types of exhausted? Well, it was girls’ lifting night last night, which is something I thought of during the Lee Barta CrossFit Challenge some time ago. There aren’t that many badass women who like to lift in this area and we’re all spread in different gyms. So during the competition, I started to talking to the girls to determine if there was any interest in getting a group of us together periodically, perhaps once a month, so we can all lift together. Turns out, everyone was game! Heck yeah!

lift

On this particular Ladies’ Lifting night, three of us decided to try and max out on deadlifts. Now, I love deadlifts, but that lift is all types of moody! Not only does it wreck my nervous system, but I can never tell when it’s going to be a good deadlift day or not. No matter, a big reason I forced myself to rest the day before is because I knew I was going to deadlift. Now keep in mind that prior to Ladies’ Lifting Night my intent was to only deadlift because I know better. I know it destroys me. I know it would be stupid to try to do any other type of lift. But you see, what had happened was, two of us weren’t having a good deadlifting night and we got upset. So naturally the right thing to do was to max out on backsquats, right?

lindseyserious

Oh but wait! It gets better! We weren’t having the best backsquat day either, so we decided to front squat too.

Lindsay Lohan appears in Beverly Hills Court regarding her probation

Hey, hey! I PR’d on my front squat though! I got 175 lbs and last time I tried two years ago I got 165 lbs!

cosby-shaking-head

Le sigh. I know, it SO wasn’t worth it. One of these days, the lesson might actually stick. =/

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

