They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

Just Shake, Shake, Shake it Off!

Leave a comment

That video is so much fun! I love how she’s able to make fun of herself. Plus, the song is just super catchy.

Fortunately, I don’t really have people talking about me or saying bad things about me behind my back (that I know of, at least) but what I am experiencing over here is people gossiping about other people. That is, my friends over here tend to be all up in our other friends’ business. Not necessarily in a bad way, like not talking smack or anything, but more like,

“Hey, did you notice so-and-so over there sitting so close to so-and-so? I think she tried to kiss him, and he kinda pushed her way. Dude. She’s married!”

“What is up with so-and-so and so-and-so? They haven’t left each other’s side AT ALL. Dude. She’s married!”

And I’m over here like, actually no, no I didn’t notice at all.

background

Oh yeah, my friend’s just waiting in the car. He’s totally fine.

Also…I really don’t care. After all, it’s none of my business.

confused-girl

But now because they’ve brought it to my attention, I find myself starting to notice things that are probably not that big of a deal. Like, “oooooooh she said goodbye to me, like, 30 minutes ago, and look at her over there still talking to him.” UGH! I almost wish they hadn’t said anything to me and let me be my oblivious self because then these things wouldn’t even cross my mind. It’s just, maybe there is something a bit off going on, or maybe there isn’t. Maybe they haven’t quite crossed the line, but they’re playing dangerously close to it. Or maybe they’re simply good friends and happen to be a girl and a guy. At the end of the day, how does that affect me? It doesn’t. The only way it will affect me is if I make it my business, which it really isn’t. And really….I just don’t care enough. If someone does end up doing something I morally disagree with, I’ll deal with it then. For now though…

dont car

I know that may seem harsh and it may seem like I don’t care about my friends, but really it’s more that I highly dislike drama. One friend even told me, “I don’t know, man, the reason I started hanging out with everyone here is because I really don’t want any drama, but with this…I just don’t know.” Isn’t that the point, though? We don’t know, so why assume anything? Why speculate?

In any case, I’m just going to do my thing, stay oblivious, and not try to predict where things may lead to. It’s none of my business.

support

I think I’m going to have to get used to just shaking off people’s comments. I suppose the downside to being in a small community in which people care so much about each other is having everyone be hyper-aware of things that are going on. Alas, I am no longer in LA and no longer can enjoy its anonymity. But the upside is people here really do care, albeit maybe a bit too much sometimes. =\

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

