They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

Nomad…ish

Leave a comment

A nomad is a person with no settled home, who moves from place to place as a way of obtaining food, finding pasture for livestock, or otherwise making a living. – Wikipedia

Traveller_T

I am by no means a nomad, but I kinda feel that way. I technically live in southern CA, I physically live in Binghamton, NY, and I have no idea where I’m going to be next year. Oh that’s not at all close to what a nomad is? 😛 I think it’s just the aspect of me not being settled anywhere right now, and not knowing where I’m going to be next year or even where I’m going to (or want to) end up, period…and surprisingly liking it. Why is this surprising? Well according to my zodiac sign, Cancer, I’m supposed to be all about the home.

Cancer, the fourth sign of the zodiac, is all about home. Those born under this sign are ‘roots’ kinds of people, and take great pleasure in the comforts of home and family. – Astrology.com (and you know the internet don’t lie!)

While it’s true that my “home” is very important to me, I don’t think I’m very rooted. I’m fortunate enough to always somehow make good friends wherever I find myself and I do find it difficult and saddening to say good-bye, but at the end of the day I always feel excited for whatever adventure there is waiting for me, and I will almost always choose that route.

LeapOfFaith-1024x768

I love Binghamton. I think it’s absolutely beautiful out here, and seeing the seasons change in such an open area full of trees and beautiful scenery brings joy to my heart. It started snowing last night and I woke up to snow lightly dusting the ground and I just felt like a child in my giddiness.

cat snow

And the people here are just incredible! So many people were worried about me being out here by myself, with me not knowing anyone in the immediate area and with Binghamton not being such a “happening” type of place. Well, thank you, GSR CrossFit, for allowing me to meet like-minded people to get my sweat on with and also meet lifelong friends. I will forever remember this time of my life.

However…I just feel like my adventures have just begun. I’m not saying I’m going to leave, but I also don’t know if I’m going to stay. The only thing I know for certain is I’m not going back to CA. I love the life I’ve begun to build here. I have a great place to live, my kitties are with me, I’ve got a great gym to work out in, I now have friends I’m getting closer to as each day goes by, but if I feel like there’s something more out there for me, I’m going to go for it. It’s going to make me sad beyond belief, but I just don’t want to look back in my life, filled with what-ifs. Like, a friend had posted these quotes on Facebook recently and it kinda broke my heart.

IMG_573333156712350

IMG_573342648299847

I would really hate to be the person living those quotes and posting that kinda sh*t on social media. Not saying my friend’s life is in shambles, but I mean, there’s always some truth in the things that you share with people. I just never want to feel that way. I never want to feel like I compromised my dreams and happiness to stay on the safe road. Dreams can change (and they probably will), sure, and like I said, maybe my place is here in Binghamton. But if I do end up staying, I want it to be because I want to and not because I’m being held back by fear of the unknown.

I want to be free to fly and land wherever I wish.

So, for now, nomad-ish it is.

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

