They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

The “Almost” One

Leave a comment

I have now finally found myself out of bed and in a cafe but alas, I am still procrastinating. I will work ever so hard after this, I promise.

homer

In any case, I read an interesting blog post over on Thought Catalog about being the “almost” girl. If I met this girl in person I’d want to give her a hug and a high five at the same time. A hug because it makes me sad when girls go through a series of relationships or situationships that don’t work out and end up thinking, “Why wasn’t it me? Why wasn’t I ‘The One‘?” This is where the difference in perspectives is really interesting to me. Because while I have also gone through my fair share of relationships or situationships that didn’t work out, never once had that crossed my mind. Instead, what has crossed my mind was, “Damn, when will I meet ‘The One‘ instead of the ‘The Almost One’?”

Perhaps the reason why I thought of it that way is because I’m a self-centered person…

flip

It’s all about me, snatches!

…but I really don’t think so. It’s more that I don’t blame myself (or him) or think that I’m lacking in some way when things don’t work out. Timing, incompatibility, he doesn’t realize my worth till I leave (lol can’t say I’m lacking in self-assurance)…these are the things that cross my mind. Thinking there’s something wrong with me or that I’m not lucky enough to be “The One,” not so much. Because the truth is it isn’t about whether or not you’re “The Almost One” or you see him as “The One Who Got Away,” it’s really more that he’s not the one for you, and you’re not the one for him, plain and simple. No one’s at fault, no “almost,” it’s just the way it is.

But in any case, she does sum up beautifully what I think everyone should focus on instead of worrying about love and finding the better half of your soul or what not:

“Being yourself, being able to be by yourself, is a better love story than any man who doesn’t want to be with you.”

I couldn’t have said it better myself. You tell ’em, girlfriend!

81781-clueless-high-five-gif-9G43

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

