They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

It’s Always Sunny in California

Leave a comment

I went home for Thanksgiving and got to stay an extra week since work wanted me to be in the Irvine office. My last visit home was picture-perfect – blue, clear sky, warm weather, and sunshine the whole time.

beach

This visit? Not so much. It certainly started off on the right note. For one thing, I got bumped to first class because of my Silver Elite status with Delta.

IMG_20141127_135440

Oh, you fancy, huh?

Then my mom picked me up from the airport and we headed over to have some turkey at my cousin’s house.

IMG_20141127_215035

The next day was also beautiful…but then the rain came and decided to stay for the whole time I was there. Why, man, WHY?!?!

20141130_165349

Who lied to me and said that it’s always clear, sunny, blue skies in California??

California really needs the rain though, plus I got used to not always having sunshine living in Binghamton so it actually wasn’t that big of a deal. Still…it would’ve been nice to get some sunshine. No matter, I like to try to find the silver lining in unexpected, non-ideal situations, and the silver lining in the unexpected rainy weather was the fact that it was perfect onesie weather!

IMG_20141129_185820

The Lion and The Hedgehog

I love my friends and their eccentricity, man. They’re simply the best.

It was really, REALLY great to catch up with friends and family. I caught up with my first CrossFit coach ever over at CrossFit 1440.

IMG_20141128_125102

I also went to StrongFit for Squaturday, which I used to do every Saturday, and was reminded how much work I still need to do with my squats…I’m going to start recording myself, even though I hate doing so. I’ll think of it as a means for improvement rather than an awkward video of myself…

20141129_112914

I had great meals with my cousin pretty much every night.

food

And I finally got to meet up with the “Wolfpack,” who I haven’t seen since my going away dinner right before I moved to Binghamton, NY.

wine

It’s been almost a year, and so much has changed, both in good and bad ways. This year has definitely been The Year of the Unexpected but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. It’s almost the end of the year and although there have been some downs in our lives, there have definitely been some ups and it seems to me that our Wolfpack will be ending the year on a wonderful note. I just can’t believe how fast this year has passed and how much things have changed! The one thing that won’t change, despite the distance and the busy schedules, is our friendship. We may no longer hang out as much as we used to, but every time we do it is such a blast! I am so blessed to have met and maintain such amazing people in my life!

Till next time, California!

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

