They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

Temecula Adventures: Wine Tasting…and Olive Oil Tasting?

Leave a comment

Yup, olive oil tasting. I know it seems strange but a good olive oil tastes incredible, no bread needed. The first time I heard about it I admit I was a bit appalled…I mean…you drink the olive oil? As in, by itself?? WHY.

why

Once I tasted fancy schmancy olive oil though I understood. Really good olive oil is truly delicious, but actually, it’s the fancy flavored balsamic vinaigrette that I really enjoy. Ever since then I’ve gained a much better appreciation for good olive oil and unique tasting balsamic vinaigrette.

My friend and I decided that we wanted to go olive oil tasting first at the Temecula Olive Oil Company in old town Temecula before doing any wine tasting. Our reasoning was we wanted to be completely sober in order to truly enjoy the different olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette options. That and so I would be better able to curtail my shopping…

20150215_134852

We ended up trying 3 “pairs,” if you will. The Olive Oil Barista (I have no idea what they’re actually called) offered us the olive oil first, then mixed it with a complimenting balsamic vinaigrette. That way we could taste the olive oil on its own and then paired. I ended up getting the plain olive oil, basil-infused olive oil, and the honey balsamic vinaigrette.

20150215_141226

After that we headed over to the Lorimar Loft Winery, which was just within walking distance.

20150215_112825

20150215_145519

None of the wine really stood out for me but what did stand out was the unique and clever description of each wine. Some of my favorites:

“This wine is deep, so deep Jacques Cousteau can’t fathom its depth.”

“In a recent study this wine was voted, ‘The best wine you will ever have in the world’ (Focus group: our moms).”

20150215_150352

Then we proceeded to our final destination, Wilson Creek Winery, which was outside of old town Temecula. (Good thing my friend drove as I was already feeling pretty happy at that point. Much like this: 😀 )

Wilson Creek Winery is a huge venue and really beautiful. Of course, it helped that it was such a beautiful that day too, like most days out here in southern California. 😉

20150215_155244

20150215_170856

20150215_170836

20150215_155134

20150215_155355

20150215_161341

20150215_155341

I honestly feel like I’m saying goodbye to California these days, so I really enjoy these local trips on the weekend. I don’t even mind that I’m missing out on snowboarding season this year since my board and gear is still back in Binghamton. I’m just trying to absorb as much sunshine as I can and enjoy southern California winter. You know, the type of winter where I just went bathing suit shopping for another upcoming trip to Palm Springs. 😉

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

