They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

It’s the Final Countdown!

Leave a comment

At work, at least! This is my last week at work and I cannot wait until my last day is over and I can start planning for my move to Binghamton, NY! So far, the stats of well-wishing, I’m-gonna-miss-you and such are as follows:

Number of people who were not surprised: 2
Number of people who were surprised: Everyone else
Number of people who asked if I’m moving because of a guy: 5
Number of people who asked if I’m moving because of a girl: 1
Number of people who joked about me liking the snow: 3
Number of guys who seemed compelled to tell me they think I’m pretty…several times: 2
Number of people who gave me really touching, great compliments (i.e. we’re going to miss your efficiency, you’re a really great worker, etc.): 9
Number of awkward I-love-you or I-have-feelings-for-you: 0

I mention the last one because at my previous job it seemed that as soon as I gave my two-week notice, the cat came out of the bag and two guys I worked with made me feel uncomfortable with their confessions. Now I’m not trying to be all “oh, woe is me, it’s so hard when people think you’re pretty, the struggle is real!”

beautiful

Rather, it made me feel uncomfortable because both of them were married at the time…with kids…one of them even has a daughter the same age as me. I mean, that’s just wrong, right?

Thankfully, that does not seem to be the case at this job, even though it did make me feel uncomfortable that two of them complimented me because they think I’m pretty at least twice within the same conversation. I don’t know, that just makes me feel weird. I mean, of course, I’m flattered but it just doesn’t mean as much to me as the compliments from my other colleagues when they say they will miss me because of how good I was at my job. Sure, telling me they’re going to miss seeing my pretty face is flattering but I didn’t do much to get that. I got it from my mama. But hearing that people are disappointed I’m leaving because it’ll be hard to replace me, or that if I ever need references not to hesitate to contact them, or the best yet, “If I had my own company, you would definitely be offered a position. You have a steadiness that not many people have.” Those are the compliments that really warm my heart and make me feel good. It tells me I’ve been doing something right, especially when it’s coming from different departments (program management, my manager, technical team lead, suppliers, etc.).

This new stage in my career and in my life is particularly exciting for me because not only am I moving to the other side of the country, I’m also changing careers. I will no longer be an engineer and instead am going over to the dark business side. I have to admit it hurts a little knowing that I can no longer call myself an engineer but I think this will be a good career path for me. I’ve thought about where I can go from here as an engineer and my options just didn’t appeal to me. On the other hand, making this lateral move will hopefully open new doors for me that previously were unavailable as an engineer. And if not? Well. I can always go back to being an engineer. The important thing is that I try and see where this leads me.

Ah, life changes. How exciting and scary you are, but how I love you so!

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

