They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

Taking a Quick Breath…from NY!

Leave a comment

It’s been a while since I’ve posted, but so many things have happened! Between finishing up at my last job, packing up my stuff, arranging my car and things to be moved, having goodbye lunches and dinners with friends and family, going to the beach every chance I could get, then flying to Binghamton, unpacking, cleaning, saying hello to my kitties, reuniting with my friends in NY, getting settled in my new job, and the thing that has been a constant with me this whole time, school, I just need to

gasp for air

come up for air and take a deep breath!

I’m really happy though. I’ve been on a go-go-go type of pace but I’m all unpacked, excessive things have been donated, I’ve been at my new job for 3 weeks now and it’s already picking up, AND I got to do my first adventure last weekend. Of course, I suffered for it because I got really behind in school, but the weather was just so nice!

To be fair, I did try to compromise and do some work while sitting on my balcony. I figured, hey, no reason I can’t enjoy the sunshine while working, right?

IMG_20150502_144333

I did this for a little over an hour, basically enough so I didn’t feel too guilty, but I couldn’t pass the good weather up. This isn’t California so I can’t always say that about the weather, so off I went!

I decided to go to Watkins Glen State Park, even though I had already been there before. It wasn’t as lush as when I went there last summer, but it was still gorgeous.

20150502_182119

20150502_181630

20150502_180836

Apparently, Watkins Glen was a bit confused about it being spring already, because there was still some snow.

20150502_181151

It wasn’t cold at all though, and the water levels seemed a bit higher than last time.

20150502_180537

20150502_180759

I was kinda supposed to meet up with a group of friends here, but I was glad the timing didn’t work out because I got a chance to have some much needed alone time. Besides, I can keep myself pretty entertained.

Unfortunately, only a short part of the trail was open and the other part won’t be open until closer to the end of May. Oops, now I know. It makes sense though because during winter, the stone steps get iced over so I assume there is a lot of maintenance needed to ensure the safety of the people walking on the trails.

20150502_182444

No matter, I was getting hungry for dinner at that point anyway, so I decided to go to Stone Cat Cafe again, which is this really amazing restaurant with organic, fresh food, and a fairly new deck to enjoy the view. The last time I went it started raining so I didn’t get to enjoy sitting on the deck, but not this time!

20150502_193057

The food was phenomenal, just like I remembered.

20150502_193258

20150502_195834

20150502_192727

Alright, enough reminiscing. I must now put my head back in the water and start swimming. It’s finals week…I can do this!

tumblr_n0jbokj4Yq1tqsa5wo1_500

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

