They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

“The Preview”

Leave a comment

I caught up with a friend of mine and we ended up talking about the philosophy of life and love, as we always seem to every time we talk (lol). We have one of those types of friendships where we don’t talk often but when we do we pick up right where we left off, and strangely enough despite the time and distance, we always seem to be on the same path in life. Perhaps not in things like career and such but more where we are in terms of life lessons.

Last time we talked, she seemed to be having her own version of The Man Who Drove Her Crazy, something which I am also unfortunately familiar with. Because I recognized the signs and knew that no amount of talking would help her out of the crazy pit, I just nodded my head and listened to her as she spouted words of poetic about this man, trusting that she would eventually see the truth in her own time. And she did.

This time around we spoke about how although that kind of love is very intense, all-encompassing, and kind of addicting, what we are really looking for is the Sunday kind of love. Something more like this:

4483faad-b3ff-4c79-95d9-024e95e5af1a

Instead of this:

giphy

Then I told her about Mr. Nice Guy, a guy I started to get to know shortly before I made my official move to New York. I told her how it seemed different with him. He seemed to be exactly what I was looking for, and the feelings I was starting to develop seemed more real than even with The Man Who (Once) Made Me Crazy. Everything was…chill, for lack of a better word. There wasn’t this intense need to see each other or speak to each other every minute of every day; it was just a nice, relaxed “hey, I really wanna get to know you, but no pressure though” type of feeling. There were no games. There was no “oh I would love to be with you forever BUT” type of thing. All it was, was “hey, I kinda like you. Let’s hang out and see where this goes.” It was just really nice. Like, really, really nice.

I was telling her how I’m sure there’s a reason why it happened when it did, even though it was the one thing that made me sad to leave California. It was just strange because he was actually someone I had known for quite some time, even before I got sent on assignment to Binghamton and somehow when I moved back earlier this year we started getting to know each other better. Of course a part of me was like, “Dammit, universe, why??” and that’s when she said,

“Maybe he’s the preview.”

As in, perhaps he was meant to open my mind to the possibility that the person for me may be someone I already know. As opposed to my usual pattern of seeing someone across the room and automatically being drawn to that person and then just

giphy (1)

Huh. Maybe. In any case, I am in no hurry but I will say that my short but sweet experience with him certainly did open my eyes and I have to admit, he kinda made me want things I didn’t know I wanted…perhaps that’s a good thing though as I have been told a few times that I tend to be “too independent.” I didn’t realize that was a thing but…oops? 😀

In the meantime, I will revel in my independence and do exactly what I want to do, which usually means some sort of local adventure to bask in the beauty that is upstate New York. This particular weekend I decided to go to Robert Treman State Park, which I had gone with my parents last spring, but I wanted to hike a different trail and see what it looked like in the fall. So how did it look this time around? Beautifall, of course!

Robert 4

panorama

Robert 2

Robert 1

Part of the appeal in my typical Sunday Funday adventures is the drive itself. It’s just so peaceful and a time when I can just let myself be.

Robert 6

I’ve only been here for roughly a year and a half, counting my temporary relocation last year, but I really hope I never lose my sense of wonder every time I go for a hike or even just a drive. I hope I never become ungrateful or take this place for granted because it truly is a beautiful place to be.

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

