They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

Going Off the Grid in Switzerland

Leave a comment

While I was in France, gallivanting through Paris, Versailles, and Reims, I was active on social media and interacting with my friends back home quite regularly because I knew they were worried about me traveling by myself given the recent events in Paris. However, as soon as I met up with my family in Zurich, Switzerland, I went off the grid. I stopped uploading photos, stopped looking at Facebook and Instagram notifications, and felt absolutely free.

titanic

In hindsight, I probably should’ve informed my friends whom I was interacting with regularly that I was planning to do this so they didn’t think something bad had happened…oops…but when they emailed me, at least I responded then, right? Right.

In any case, it was my first time visiting my family in Zurich. I’m one of the last among my cousins to visit them. Again, oops…but better late than never, right? Right.

As I got off the station, I was greeted by this huge Swarovski-bedazzled tree.

20151126_184400.jpg

My aunt and uncle came to get me and as we went outside we were greeted with…more lights!

20151126_185020.jpg

The next day they took me to Lucerne where I got to see the Kapellbrücke (Chapel Bridge) and the Dying Lion Monument.

20151127_124815-01.jpeg

Kapellbrucke (Chapel Bridge)

 

20151127_125200-01-1.jpg

Crossing the Kapellbrucke

20151127_132340-01

The Dying Lion – A memorial for the Swiss Soldiers who died fighting for the French Revolution

I also got introduced to the Swiss gingerbread man, which is like a pretzel man with raisins. Delicious and available only around Christmas time.

20151127_131024.jpg

Of course it wouldn’t be a trip to Switzerland without fondue and raclette, right? And so…

20151128_195930.jpg

Raclette with the family

20151127_220252 (2).jpg

Cheese Fondue (mmmmm)

On my last day, we explored Zurich during the day. We had Gluwein (mulled wine), macarons, crepes, walked around and shopped for a bit (well, I did at least), and enjoyed the sights along the way. The photos below were taken from a spot where my cousin apparently takes all her dates. I can see why she takes them there. 😀

20151128_135455-0120151128_135203-01

It was so wonderful to be disconnected during this part of my trip. It made me realize how much I’m on my phone when I’m back home, which is likely why my mind hardly gets as quiet as it does when I’m on vacation. I love it. While I do love being connected to people, I also cherish the times when I’m just doing what I want to do, not communicating with anyone other than the people I’m physically with, and just being truly present in the moment.

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

