They sent me to Binghamton

I've always wanted to be on the east coast, and the universe responded…by sending me to Binghamton, NY. Oh you've never heard of it? Neither had I, but I do so love adventures and that's how I choose to view this. Let the adventures begin!

Oh Madrid, How Lovely Art Thou

Leave a comment

Lately I’ve been filled with such joy and lightness in my heart, not sure why. Nothing has changed externally but for some reason, internally something shifted. It feels like when you do something without any real expectation of the outcome and then it just totally blows your mind. Like that time I went to Chocolateria San Gines on our last night in Madrid even though I’m not particularly fond of chocolate or churros, just because my friend said “You just have to try it! It’s very Madrid!”

image

giphy

Or when our friends in Madrid causally suggested we go to the Temple of Debod to watch the sunset because it was “nice.”
image

image

image

image

wow

The Rick Steves book suggested getting a 10 pack of metro tickets for the duration of time we were there but given we were staying pretty much in the downtown area of Madrid, it didn’t seem necessary to take the metro. It was a difference of 5 minutes according to Google. Besides, the weather was really nice and there’s something amazing about just walking down the streets of a different country. So we walked.

image

And walked.

image

And walked some more.

image

When I looked it up in my phone it turns out we walked an average of 7 miles each day, with a maximum of almost 11 miles! We weren’t walking aimlessly though so it didn’t seem that bad. We went to the Museo del Prado and got our Goya on.

image

image

Then we decided to go modern the next day and went to the Museo Reina Sofia.

image

image

image

image

image

image

For our final night, we decided to do the completely tourist thing and go to a Flamenco show, complete with sangria and tapas.

image

image

image

Madrid is a very beautiful city with really friendly people.

image

image

image

image

Although Barcelona still has my heart, Madrid is a close second because of its “city” feel and proximity to other cities in Spain. After all, it is pretty much in the center of Spain. Plus, I also discovered from my new friends in Spain that flying out of Madrid to other countries is much cheaper than other cities in Spain. Hmmmm…not that I see myself living there but who knows, right?

Spain is officially my favorite country in my travels so far. I finally understand what my other friends mean when they say they’ve fallen in love with a city or a country. It’s not a really tangible thing and even now I can’t quite explain. I just know that I felt extremely happy while I was there and that the cities I visited somehow spoke to me…which sounds like such a free spirit, tree hugging thing to say but I don’t know how else to explain it. Perhaps I’m slowly but surely turning into a hippie…

hippie.gif

…which really isn’t a bad thing.

On that note, peace and love, friends!

love

Author: lorz46

When I first started this blog, life had just thrown me a curveball by sending me to the middle of nowhere in upstate New York right smack in the middle of winter from my hometown in sunny, southern California. I had no idea what to expect, how long I would stay, or even where my life was heading. All I knew was that there were a great many adventures to be had after they sent me to Binghamton.

Leave a Reply

